top of page
Production History
Photo Gallery
Quotes from the press


“A luminous production of Thornton Wilder's Pulitzer-winning 1942 play about a family battling terrible odds holds up beautifully.”

—Lisa Brock, StarTribune


Sound Designer, Katharine Horowitz:

“To this day, one of my top five favorite sound cues, and one of the most fun to create, 

remains “The History of the World In One Minute” for The Skin of our Teeth.” Take a listen:

The Skin of Our Teeth

by Thornton Wilder


July 2-25, 2009

Directed by Benjamin McGovern 


Through the adventures of one American family, The Skin of Our Teeth examines the cyclical nature of human existence. The Antrobus family, their maid Sabina and a host of other characters prevail over a series of catastrophes.


This production was made possible, in part, by funds provided by the Metropolitan Regional Arts Council through an appropriation by the Minnesota Legislature. 



Announcer/Homer/Conveener/Mr. Tremayne: George Muellner

Sabina: Alayne Hopkins*

Fitzpatrick/Professor/Conveener: Sam Landman

Mrs. Antrobus: Kirby Bennett

Telegraph Boy/Doctor/Conveener/Broadcast Official: Mike Rylander

Mammoth/Miss E. Muse/Fortune Teller: Amanda Whisner

Dinosaur/Miss T. Muse/Conveener/Ivy: Courtney McLean

Gladys Antrobus: Anna Sundberg

Henry Antrobus: Ian Miller

Mr. Antrobus: John Middleton

Miss M. Muse/Bingo Caller/Hester: Julie Weaver

Judge Moses/Chair Pusher/Conveener: Joel Grothe


*Appearing Courtesy of Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors andStage Managers in the United States, appearing under a Special Appearance Contract.


Production Team:

Director: Ben McGovern

Producers: Kirby Bennett, Anthony Paul

Dramaturg: Kit Gordon

Scenic Design: Erica Zaffarano

Costume Design: Kathy Kohl

Lighting Design: Jennifer DeGolier

Sound Design: Katharine Horowitz

Properties Design: Anna Lawrence

Assistant Properties Design: Nicholas Golfis

Stage Manager: Caitlin Milligan Sheaffer

Assistant Stage Manager: Sarah Bauer

Running Crew: Allyson Carey, Shantè Zenith

Photographer: Rich Fleischman

Wardrobe Assistant: Lisa Billingham

Graphic Design: Wendy Ruyle, 5 by 5 Design

Captain of the Ushers: Philip Losacker

Opening and Closing Parties Host Committee: Kit and Bob Gordon, Craig Johnson, Joyce Hoelting, Laura and Luther Salveson, Lisa Billingham and Michael Jensen, Nancy and Anthony Paul. And special thanks to Harvey McLain, Turtle Bread and Cafe Levain


bottom of page